First-Time DWI Arrests in Fort Bend County
Arrested for Drunk Driving in Fort Bend or Harris County?
If you are facing charges of driving while intoxicated (DWI), you need to take action. DWI is not merely a traffic offense; it's a crime, one that can lead to serious penalties and a stigma that can follow you for years into the future. At Stornello Law Firm, P.C., we are committed to providing high-quality service to each of our clients. Call us now at (281) 761-7160 or fill out a free case evaluation form to get in touch with our defense attorneys and find out how we can help.
You Can Fight Your Charges!
A large percentage of people who have been arrested for DWI in Sugar Land make a serious mistake; they give up. Most people think that it's illegal to drink and drive, so when they're pulled over after having had a couple of drinks, they assume that they have been caught "red handed" and have no hope of fighting the charges. This is not the case.
It is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or more, and it is also illegal to drive when one's abilities are impaired by drugs or alcohol, but it is possible to fight – and win – a DWI case even if you had been drinking. We can review your case to determine the best strategy for your defense, and we are prepared to go the distance to protect your rights.
Penalties for a First-Time DWI in Texas
In most cases, a first-time DWI will be charged as a Class B misdemeanor. There are minimum mandatory punishments that are associated with this offense, including:
- Maximum $2,000 fine
- Up to 2 years of community supervision or probation
- Minimum of 72 hours and up to 6 months in county jail
- Minimum of 24 hours of community service
Harsher penalties may be imposed if aggravating conditions are associated with the defendant's first DWI conviction, such as if you are accused of causing an accident or while driving drunk. What's more, even one DWI conviction can lead to tougher charges in the future – meaning a higher risk of felony DWI charges. With so much on the line, you can't afford to stand by. Contact our firm today to fight for your freedom.
Taking Immediate Action After a DWI Arrest
If you were arrested under the suspicion of driving while intoxicated, you only have fifteen days to request a hearing with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to protect your ability to drive. During this hearing, you will have the opportunity to challenge the administrative suspension of your driver's license. Our firm is available to represent your best interests and defend your license during this hearing, as well as throughout the DWI process.
We understand that your situation may be overwhelming, but it's not something you have to face alone. Our Fort Bend County criminal defense attorneys have helped countless people in the past, and we're ready to answer your questions and offer the help you need.
Call us now to discuss your case!
client reviewsOpinions From Those Who Matter Most
“Mr. Stornello was kind enough to share legal insight and experience to assist me, a fellow attorney.”- Caroline O.
“I had two very serious cases I was on probation for and got them terminated early thanks to Mr. Stornello’s hard work.”- Joshua F.
“Because of you, I'm a free man again.”- Joseph O.